Skip to main content
Slide 1
Slide 1
next arrow
previous arrow

The Order of the Salvatorians

Founding of the Order

The Salvatorians are a religious community founded in Rome in 1881 by the German priest

“Father Francis Mary of the Cross Jordan”. According to his mission, the members are to proclaim to all people the salvation that has appeared in Jesus Christ, and to do so “in every way and by every means that the love of Christ inspires”. Father Jordan himself was deeply touched by the words of John’s Gospel: “This is life eternal, that they may know Thee, the true and only God, and whom Thou hast sent, Jesus Christ” (John 17:3).

Apostolate of the Salvatorians

The Salvatorians should be ready to serve all people everywhere in the world, in every way and by every means that the love of Christ imparts. Their apostolate is not limited to a specific task such as education or working with young people. They emphasise the universality of the Christian vocation by encouraging the laity to live out their baptismal promise and to be witnesses of faith in their private and social lives.

Missionary work

That is why the Salvatorians are present in mission countries, show solidarity with the poor and marginalised, and work for personal development, family life, health and education.

Their tasks include: The leadership of parishes in the spirit of the Salvatorian charism. The accompaniment of young people who want to find out how to live their Christian vocation.

Promoting Christian formation and encouraging spiritual growth and active participation in the Church and in the world. The Salvatorians conduct research, teach in universities and proclaim the Gospel in a contemporary way and in dialogue with every culture through the means of social communication.


The Salvatorians are present on all continents.

• In Europe they work in the following countries: Albania, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Czech
Republic, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland and Ukraine.

The Order is administratively divided into provinces. Since 2009, the former two provinces in

Germany have reunited to form a “German Province”.

  • The German Province includes: Bad Wurzach, Berlin, Kall-Steinfeld, Cologne, Lindau, Munich, Münster, Pfarrkirchen and Stuttgart.
  • In Germany, the Belgian province includes Grevenbroich and Solingen.

Adress of the Generalate (Head Office in Rom):
Curia Generalizia della Società del Divin Salvatore
Via della Conciliazione, 51
I – 00193 ROMA
Tel. +39 (06) 686 291