920 - 1184

Around the year 920 the name “Steinfeld” is mentioned for the first time. Count Sibodo of Hochstaden lets transfer the bones of St. Potentinus the Confessor and his two sons Felicius and Simplicius from Carden Moselle to Steinfeld. For this he got permission of the Archbishop Rutger of Trier. There the Count is said to have had a hunting lodge, which he converted into a Benedictine monastery. Wigfried, Archbishop of Cologne (925-953) consecrated this House of God.

Since the religious discipline of the nuns became lax, Archbishop Frederick of Cologne (1100-1131) bought the monastery and called Augustinian canons from the convent Springiersbach County Wittlich to Steinfeld in 1097. An already built chapel to St. Andreas received the rights of a parish church. The foundation charter of Archbishop Friedrich, which regulated the rights and obligations of the monastery, is the oldest preserved document of Steinfeld.

St. Norbert of Xanten founded the Norbertine Order in 1121, which reflects the rule of the Augustinian Canons. A short time later, under the first provost Evervin of Helfenstein (1121-1151), who personally knew the Saints Norbert and Bernard of Clairvaux, the Convent associates itself to the Norbertines (Premonstratensians) around 1138.

This provost was of outstanding importance for Steinfeld Monastery. In 1142 he laid the foundation stone of a new monastery church. In a building time of eight years, the today’s basilica was built as a three-aisled, Romanesque vaulted church. Under Evervin a development of Steinfeld began that brought it to one of the most important monasteries in Germany. It was also him who sent out Confreres from Steinfeld to found new monasterys. Daughter monasteries were in the Netherlands, Ireland and Germany (e.g. Duisburg-Hamborn), but especially in the east. Of particular importance is the foundation of the monastery of Strahov above Prague (1140).

The second provost Ulrich (1152-1170) was guided by the movement of renewal of the Church that came from France and was connected with the places Citeaux, Clairvaux and Prémontré. In 1163 the Blessed Frederick of Mariengarten committed his foundation in Friesland to the monastery Steinfeld. Provost Ulrich also admitted the young Hermann of Cologne, later St. Hermann Joseph, in the Convent. Later on Hermann completed his studies at the Convent Mariengarten.

After the death of the fifth Steinfeld provost in 1184, Steinfeld was promoted to an abbey. Until the abolition during the secularisation in 1802, 44 abbots presided over the monastic community in consecutive order.

920 bis 1184

Um das Jahr 920 wird zum ersten Mal der Name Steinfeld genannt. Graf Sibodo von Hochstaden lässt die Gebeine des heiligen Bekenners Potentinus und seiner beiden Söhne Felicius und Simplicius mit Erlaubnis des Erzbischofs Rutger von Trier von Carden an der Mosel nach Steinfeld überführen. Dort soll der Graf ein Jagdschloss besessen haben, das er in ein Benediktinerinnenkloster umwandelte. Erzbischof Wigfried von Köln (925 bis 953) weihte das Gotteshaus ein. 

Da bei den Ordensfrauen die Ordenszucht verfiel, erwarb der Erzbischof Friedrich von Köln (1100 bis 1131) das Kloster von der Are und rief im Jahr 1097 Augustiner-Chorherren aus dem Stift Springiersbach im Kreis Wittlich nach Steinfeld. Eine bereits errichtete Kapelle zum hl. Andreas erhielt die Rechte einer Pfarrkirche. Die Stiftungsurkunde des Erzbischofs Friedrich, die die Rechte und Pflichten des Klosters regelte, ist die älteste noch erhaltene Urkunde von Steinfeld.
Der hl. Norbert von Xanten gründete um 1121 den Orden der Prämonstratenser, den er auf der Regel der Augustiner-Chorherren aufbaute. Kurze Zeit später, unter dem ersten Propst Evervin von Helfenstein (1121-1151), der die heiligen Norbert und Bernhard von Clairvaux persönlich kannte, schloss sich der Konvent um 1138 den Prämonstratensern an.  
Dieser Propst war für das Kloster Steinfeld von überragender Bedeutung. Im Jahr 1142 legte er den Grundstein zu einer neuen Klosterkirche. In einer Bauzeit von acht Jahren wurde die heute Basilika als dreischiffige, romanische Gewölbekirche erbaut. Unter Evervin begann für Steinfeld eine Entwicklung, die es zu einem der bedeutendsten Klöster in  Deutschland werden ließ. Er war es auch, der schon bald Steinfelder Mitbrüder zu Tochtergründungen aussandte. Tochtergründungen gab es in Holland, Irland und Deutschland (Duisburg-Hamborn), vor allem aber auch im Osten. Von besonderer Bedeutung ist die Gründung des Stiftes Strahov oberhalb von Prag (1140).
Der zweite Propst Ulrich (1152 bis 1170) orientiert sich an der Erneuerungsbewegung der Kirche, die von Frankreich ausgeht und mit den Orten Citeaux, Clairvaux und auch Prémontré verbunden ist. 1163 unterstellt der selige Friedrich von Mariengarten seine Neugründung in Friesland dem Kloster Steinfeld. Probst Ulrich nimmt auch den jungen Hermann von Köln, den späteren hl. Hermann Josef, in den Konvent auf, der später seine Studien im Kloster Mariengarten absolviert. 
1184 nach dem Tod des fünften Steinfelder Propstes wird Steinfeld zur Abtei erhoben und bis zur Auflösung während der Säkularisation 1802 stehen 44 Äbte in ununterbrochener Reihenfolge der Klostergemeinschaft vor.